Project Panorama has two new user roles, “Project Owner” and “Project Manager.” You can use these roles to better control over who can created, edit and manage projects. Roles can be assigned through the “Users” section of WordPress, either when you create a user or by editing an existing user.

Here is a quick rundown, more detailed descriptions are below:

  • Subscriber – Can access any project they have been assigned to on the front end, they can upload and approve documents (they can’t see projects or anything else on the back end)
  • Project Owner – Can access any project they have been assigned to on the front end, update tasks from the front end and can edit their projects in the back end.
  • Project Manager – Can create, edit and access any project and can upload media.
  • Editor – Can do everything a project manager can but can also edit pages, posts, etc…
  • Administrator – Can do everything (as you’d expect.)

Project Owner

Users who are assigned the “Project Owner” role can only see and edit projects they are assigned. They are unable to add new projects or see any project that wasn’t assigned to them (including open projects.) Project owners who are logged in will only see their projects when on a page that includes the project listing shortcode.

Assigning a project to a project owner is done by:

  1. Editing the project you’d like to grant access to
  2. Selecting the “Access” tab in the overview section of the page.
  3. Checking “restrict access to specific users”
  4. Adding a user and selecting the account you’d like to give access to.

Project Manager

Users who are assigned the “Project Manager” role can add, edit, delete and publish projects. They can’t however, access any other parts of the site. They can’t create posts, pages, etc… This allows you to have users who only manage projects but can’t touch the rest of your site.

Administrators and Editors

Administrators and editors are given all access to managing projects, much like Project Managers.

Subscribers

Typically, clients should use the “subscriber” role. This will allow your clients to login to their project without the ability to edit or update the projects themselves. If you’d like to hide the WordPress dashboard from clients all together consider using a plugin like WP Hide Dashboard.

You may also want your clients to login and be directed to a page that lists all of their projects. If this is the case, try installing Theme My Login. This will allow you to create a public facing login form, for example at http://www.yoursite.com/login, and then choose to redirect clients to a page that uses the project listing shortcode, maybe at http://www.yoursite.com/dashboard.